The Church is situated on the edge of the village and it is likely that a church has existed on this site since Saxon times. A Norman building was consecrated in 1143 but all that remains of this are the font and two arches supporting the central tower. The church was largely rebuilt in the late 14th century and a major refurbishment undertaken in the mid-19th century when the tower was heightened and the six bells installed. The internal fabric was completely reordered at this time and this is largely as it is today though in the last few years there has been some reorganisation of the font area and replacement of some pews with chairs.
There is access to the Parish Burial Ground from the churchyard.
There is a range of special services, for example, All Souls Requiem Mass and Carols by Candlelight. Holy Week includes a Palm Sunday procession from the Church Centre to St. George’s Church and an ecumenical Good Friday procession around the village streets.
As a Church we have successfully adopted the Gloucester Diocesan initiatives of Experience Easter and Experience Christmas, which invite parties of school children into Church to hear the Gospel stories.
The Church is open every day between 10am and 4 pm..
On Saturday mornings there is informal prayer and meditation.
Two experienced licensed readers assist in leading worship and preach regularly. There is wide lay involvement, with members of the congregation leading prayers, reading and administering the chalice at the 10am Sunday Worship. The church bells are rung regularly on Sundays, for weddings and on a weekly practice night. The style of worship is considered to be moderate catholic though a variety of liturgy is used.